Colic

I was searching for impact of noise to the health of baby when I found that people are actually creating noise to smooth their baby! There are happily relieved parents saying how much white noise is “helping” their baby with colic condition. So what is colic? According to MedlinePlus,

Almost all babies go through a fussy period. When crying lasts for longer than about three hours a day and is not caused by a medical problem (such as a hernia or infection), it is called colic. This phenomenon occurs in almost all babies. The only thing that differs is the degree.

That’s three hours out of a 24-hour day!

Colic usually strikes toward the end of a long day, when your baby is just about at the age when your sleep deprivation has really begun to set in. Your baby stops being the quiet, peaceful, miracle baby and begins screaming every evening. It is no wonder that parents can become frustrated, discouraged, and depressed.

About 20% of babies cry enough to meet the definition of colic. The timing varies, but colic usually affects babies beginning at about 3 weeks of age and peaking somewhere between 4-6 weeks of age.

I guess I belong to the 20% when I was a baby. No wonder my mom did not want a second child.

I was kidding. :)