Mary Jo Foley bought an iPad. And it's a big deal

Mary Jo Foley of ZDNet confessed that she bought an iPad. Considering that iPad is selling like crazy – it becomes Apple’s third-biggest business segment only after iPhone and Mac in just one quarter – it is not really a big deal. However, Mary is the author of the All About Microsoft blog. She is the kind that never see the value of iProduct (or iCrap for some). In her own words,

Well, for me it is a big deal. I’m a PC. I am not an early adopter or someone who rushes out to buy the latest/greatest gadget. This is the first Apple product I’ve ever owned. I never saw the need for an iPod (I bought a Sony Walkman MP3 player, and later a Zune HD). I never lusted after an iPhone (especially because I use my phone to make phone calls). And I never wanted or needed an iMac or a MacBook, as I had so many PCs from which to choose.

So is she buying an iPad? Simply put, there is nothing quite like it.

At Microsoft’s consumer showcase in New York in June, there were lots of Windows 7 PCs on display, but not a single slate. (When I asked one Microsoft evangelist why I shouldn’t buy an iPad, he retorted “You have five hundred bucks. Go buy one” instead of offering me anything concrete to convince me otherwise.) I say show me a Windows 7 slate with 10+-hour battery life, instant on/off (i.e., hibernation that really works), and an interface that is as fun and responsive as the iPad’s and I’d still consider buying one.

With all the negative news focusing on iPhone 4, iPad is quietly selling like hotcakes.

I am also not surprised to see her pointing out that iPad are making inroads into businesses. Two of the FAQs in an internal conference of a Fortune 500 is 1) when can I get a Mac; and 2) when can I get an iPad.